Back to Subjects Menu

Business BTEC

The Business BTEC is for learners who are interested in learning about the business sector alongside other fields of study, with a view to progressing to a wide range of higher education courses, not necessarily in business-related subjects. It is designed to be taken as part of a programme of study that includes other appropriate BTEC Nationals or A Levels.

This course enables students to get an excellent grounding and experience in a range of essential business themes and develop their understanding within a workplace or vocational context within their written assessments.

By covering a range of business concepts and discrete units of learning, students can develop their areas of skill and specialism that can be developed at higher education under either general business courses, or specific areas of study within Business, for example; Business Finance.

The course is assessed through a variety of methods including centre -developed assignments, exam board set and marked assignments and an external examination.

Exam Board: Pearson (Edexcel) Extended Certificate

Entry Requirements

Grade 4 in GCSEs in English and Maths.

Future Opportunities

Business combines well with almost all other subjects and goes particularly well with sociology, geography, mathematics, French, government and politics, PE and psychology.

The course gives you a wide choice of progression options into further study, training or relevant employment in the business world. You will be well equipped to move on to degrees, BTEC Higher National Diplomas, degrees or modern apprenticeships in related subjects.

BTEC National qualifications give equivalent UCAS points to GCE A levels for university applications.

Course content & Assessment

Course Content

In BTEC Business, learning is broken up into four units:

  • 1 Exploring Business
  • 2 Developing a Marketing Campaign
  • 3 Personal and Business Finance
  • 8 Recruitment and Selection Process

Exploring Business and Recruitment and Selection Process are assessed through coursework submission, while Developing a Marketing Campaign and Personal and Business Finance are assessed by external exams.

Business Department

Subject Leader Mrs S Puma      
Lead Teacher Mrs P Flynn
Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now